Carpe Diem, My Ass

What’s frustrating is that I don’t think most of us can travel (or do whatever other hobbies we have) as much as we’d like. I mean it’s like, oh great, we’d all love to seize the day but… we have bills. We need to buy groceries. We have family to take care of. Mortgages, health issues, car payments, blah blah blah. Treat each day like it’s your last, and you definitely won’t last for long!

Trying to find a satisfactory balance between doing what’s needed to sustain myself, and actually doing things that sustain my mental well-being is something that I constantly struggle with. I know I’m not the only one. Personally, I’d like to think I worked at maneuvering myself into the position I’m currently in. Am I happy with it? Sure. Am I completely satisfied? Eh… sometimes. I’m not sure if I’ll ever be satisfied staying in one place my whole life, nor have I figured out whether that’s a good or bad thing. One thing I know for sure is that I can’t seem to stop traveling. Contrary to what most of my peers think though, I’m not really that lucky. Just determined. Take a look at my travel map to see what $15,000 in debt looked like at one point.

Obviously, I don’t regret it for a second!! Yes, I’m “lucky” in that I don’t have any dependents, mortgages, am reasonably healthy, etc. But it’s not a matter of luck that I’m employed, or that my job has great paid time off, or that my travel budget is funded instead of, say, a shopping budget. Yes, ‘seize the day’ is a little unreasonable for most of us, but it’s worth a little effort, yeah?

I’d love to get your thoughts on this. It’s a topic that has come up plenty of times among friends.

1 Comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

One response to “Carpe Diem, My Ass

  1. I totally get this. I hate it when people say “You’re so lucky to be able to travel.” It’s not luck, it’s a lot of hard work. I racked up a healthly credit card balance recently and my dad told me that I should do any travelling for the next year and focus on paying my debt. I told him that wasn’t possible. I’d love to bail on my apartment and job and sieze the day, but for me it’s a balance. If I go into massive debt travelling I’m not going to enjoy it as much. I also think if travel became my whole life, I wouldn’t enjoy it as much either.

Leave a Reply

